Your Right to Compensation After a Workplace Accident in PA
Were you recently injured while at work? In Pennsylvania and across the United States, you only have a limited amount of time to file a claim for compensation. Under most circumstances, you will be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits, but you will need to act quickly, or you may lose your right to recovery.
At Freeburn Law, our personal injury and workers’ compensation lawyers can help you obtain the recovery you deserve after a workplace injury. We fight hard for injured workers to get the maximum compensation allowed under Pennsylvania law. If you have been hurt on the job, contact our office at (717) 777-7777 to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation.
Can I Sue My Employer After a Work Injury?
In most cases, if you are injured while at work in Pennsylvania, you will file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. Nearly every employer in the state is required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance for their employees.
Workers’ compensation benefits generally provide coverage for:
- Lost wages
- Specific loss benefits (loss of permanent use of all or part of a body part and disfigurement)
- Medical care
- Death benefits
While there are limited exceptions, a workplace injury would be covered under workers’ compensation under most circumstances. You would be unable to sue your employee if your injury is covered under workers’ compensation. Exceptions include if your injury was caused by a defective product or a negligent third party.
How Soon Do I Have to Report a Work Injury?
Under Pennsylvania law, you are required to give notice to your employer within 120 days of the accident that caused your injury. If you wait over 120 days, your benefits may be denied. It is important to discuss your case with a workers’ compensation attorney as soon as possible after you are injured at work to ensure that you meet all legal deadlines.
It is in your best interest to immediately report notice of your injury to your employer or supervisor to ensure that you receive the maximum benefits. If you provide notice to your employer within 21 days of your injury, then compensation is due from the date of your injury. If you give notice after 21 days, compensation is not due until notice is given. Usually, you have up to three years to file a workers’ compensation claim if you have promptly reported the injury to your employer.
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit?
If you were injured at work and are eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit, you have two years from the date of the injury to file. To determine whether you are eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit after a workplace injury, you need to consult with an experienced attorney.
Hurt on the Job? Let Freeburn Law Fight for You!
If you were injured on the job in Pennsylvania, you have rights. You may be able to file a workers’ compensation claim or a lawsuit against a negligent third party. Contact our office at (717) 777-7777 for a free, no-obligation consultation.